Wednesday, December 13, 2017

"How Santa Changed" by Karl Steam!

Hiya peeps! I've got a wonderful and festive holiday picture book for any of you with children to entertain this holiday season. Check it out - I'm sure you and your little ones will love it!

How Santa Changed

 How Santa Changed
~Author: Karl Steam

~IllustratorMaksym Stasiuk

~Released: November 8th, 2016

~Length: 38 Pages

~Genres: Fiction, Childrens Picture Book


Think you know Santa? Think again. Discover what Santa was like when he was young and the events that helped him become the jolly man we like so much. 

How Santa Changed is a story that explains many of the familiar things we associate with Santa Claus. Why does Santa use reindeer to pull his sleigh? Why does he have elves help him make toys? Why does he have a white beard? Why does he walk with jolly and cheer? 

Mrs. Claus is not left out either. If readers pay close attention, they will discover some of the strategies that helped her to become the most famous baker in history. 

This book contains timeless lessons for both children and adults alike, but not in an annoying way. It’s a story that loved ones will want to read year after year.

"Rebirth" Dystopian Review with Epic Sale Event!

Hiya peeps! I'm super excited to share a fantastic series event with you today. The author is having a massive sale for the 5th Book in the Series - the first three books in the series free for the week (Rebirth, Renegades and Retaliation) to celebrate the release of book 5, Retribution! That is epic! You can read the first three books free, and believe me, you'll want to. If you're a fan of the Hunger Games, Stranger Things, or any dystopian fantasy, you'll want to add this series to your collection.

~ About the Series ~


 Teaser #1

The United States have fallen. A new power has risen in North America, but now a terrifying virus is spreading across the countryside. Once infected, people change, mutating into superhuman creatures known as the Chead. Wherever they walk, death follows. Desperate to defend its citizens, the government launches the Praegressus Project – an experimental program to enhance the human race.

Elizabeth Flores was just a normal girl – until the Chead slaughtered her parents and made her a fugitive. With winter approaching she seeks refuge in the city of Sacramento, but the hunters are waiting. Abducted off the streets, she’s spirited away to a facility deep in the Californian mountains. There, Liz wakes in an iron cage – and she’s not alone.

In the opposite cage, Christopher Sanders stands wrongfully accused of treason. Along with Liz, he has just become a volunteer in the Praegressus Project. Stripped of their rights, they will soon learn there is little separating humanity from the monsters they seek to destroy. The two must work together if they want to survive, but even then, their chances are slim. Of course, only the lucky get to die.

Blending the insane experiments of Stranger Things and the haunting dystopia of the Hunger Games, fans will love this thrilling new series. Discover a future where the powerful rule without mercy, and nothing is ever as it seems. With hints of YA Dystopia, Genetic Scifi, Urban Fantasy and just a touch of Romance, the Praegressus Project truly has something for everyone. Enter a new world with New York Times Bestselling Author Aaron Hodges.

Check out my review of book 1 in the series, Rebirth before you pick up your copies HERE! =D

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

The Legend of the Sky Titans

Hiya peeps! I've got a new sci-fi adventure for you guys today, published a few weeks ago!

The Legend of the Sky Titans

 Legend of the Sky Titans
~Released: November 4th 2017

~Length: 225 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi


In post-apocalyptic America, two orphaned children raised as sharecroppers live together in a fragile, farm home. Michael Gilliganson Jr, the son of the world's greatest mercenary, Mopy, acts as the sole guardian of his little sister, Nya, after the death of their parents. But when the NeoMen (humanoid dinosaurs) invaded their small town, they take Nya hostage. Michael, who must now live up to his parent's legacy as the legendary Sky-Titan to save his sister, is gifted with his father's Badge of Alpha, a blue and yellow, badge-like device that gives him the ability to transform into the therianthropic god, Alpha to fight against the emergence of the tyrannical dinosaur dominated empire led by the evil King Mungfalme. He then joins forces with legendary werewolf hunter, Val Helsing (now known as Pappy), Jullian the Iota Eagle, the Vendor, Mr. Dalton, The Duke of Washington, and newcomer Samantha as they fight against the Dinosaurs to save and protect mankind from the brink of annihilation.



 About the Author

 Raleigh Daniels Jr.
Hello my name is Raleigh Daniels Jr and I have been writing stories for the past 15 years. I have a lot of experience. I love writing about werewolves and vampires, but twisting them up to call them my own. Writing is like an escape for me to run from the harsh reality to the utopia I create. I'm like God controlling my little children hehehe...wait is that out loud?

[I] like to watch a lot of science fiction films, fantasy films, some contemporary, little dramas, horrors (that aren't stereotypes) etc. If you are curious by what type of music I listen to, [well] I listen to soundtracks, New Age, classical music, Latino, hip hop, underground rap, underground hip hop, soft rock, and metal. You also caught the part that I like some pop music. 

Writing and reading has always been like a drug to me. Whenever I put words on a page I'm always pulled out from my chair into a world that I create, writing the sounds envisioned in my head, imagining myself in the pages where the words flow. 

These are the things us writers tend to see when we are high with the pen.


~ Connect with Raleigh Online ~



 My Review


Needs polishing, but not a bad story.

Sci-fi novels are generally entertaining, when done well. With an original story and some charismatic characters, it's difficult to go wrong. Luckily with The Legend of the Sky Titans, it is a unique story, and most of the characters are easy to follow and enjoy.

Michael has a massive weight on his shoulders, once his sister is kidnapped by humanoid dinosaurs. A problem like that calls for an extraordinary fix, and luckily for him, his family has him covered. With the help of his father's Badge of Alpha, and a band of evil-fighters (including Van Helsing), he is able to transform into the only creature strong enough to save humanity, and his sister. With plenty of imagination, action, tension, and a bit of humor, this book is not a bad way to spend an afternoon.

My only issue with it is mainly with the edition I got. It needs polishing, with grammatical and formatting issues littered throughout the chapters. It seems unfinished as I read it, but with the proper polishing and formatting, it's a solid 4-rose story.

If it looks interesting, be sure to add it to your tbr lists, and enjoy a new sci-fi adventure.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

Thanks for visiting! Have a great day! =D



C.R. Richard's 2017 Holiday Tour!

 Holiday Tour

Author C.R. Richards is in the holiday spirit, and giving away some incredible gifts this month! Check out my post for her "Stocking Full of Prizes" tour for your chance to win some incredible items:

Amazon Gift Card
A Snuggly Stuffed Lion
Signed Copies of Both Books in the Heart of the Warrior Series

Check out the exclusive author interview before you enter the two giveaways available at the bottom of the post!

Thursday, December 7, 2017

"Home Economics for Girls" Tour with Interview & $50 Giveaway!


Hiya peeps! I've got an audiobook review for you today, featuring not only my thoughts, but an audio excerpt, interview with the author, and a giveaway for $50!

Check it out, and be sure to leave a comment before you go! =D

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

"Snobbity Snowman" by Maria Bardyukova & Quiet Riley Jr.!

Hiya peeps! I've got a fun season-friendly children's book to share with you guys today, and hopefully you'll enjoy it! If you've got kids, be sure to check it out! =D

Snobbity Snowman

 Snobbity Snowman
~Authors: Maria Bardyukova & Quiet Riley Jr.

~Released: October 1st, 2017

~Genres: Childrens, Picture Book, Holiday


Snobbity Snowman has everything a snowman could possibly want: a shiny hat, freshly-picked noses and enough pride to last a lifetime. In fact, he is so selfish and shortsighted that he fails to see the instance his life starts falling apart.

What disasters must take place to open his charcoal eyes? To help him see that pride and possessions cannot bring true happiness? Will he defrost his ego and embrace the warmth of companionship?

Only Snobbity can tell.

Depicting winter in rich and whimsical tones, Snobbity Snowman’s quirky characters and unexpected twists promise to leave a lasting impression on all its snobbulous readers.

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

December Update

Hiya peeps! I wanted to write a quick post to update ya'll on what's happening on Desert Rose Reviews.


I haven't been accepting review requests for most of the year, but opened them back up in August, and boy, did those flood gates open! Since mid-August, I've received over 300 requests. I've accepted a good number of them, and am currently booked through the beginning of April.


I am so humbled and amazed at how many authors want to work with me, and have requested reviews! I've remembered, through the last few months, why I started this blog in the first place - because I love books! I love helping authors promote their books, and I love sharing my passion for books with others.


Really, I guess this is a thank you post, for every author who's worked with me, and every reader who's visited my blog. I hope everyone who comes to my site finds a new favorite story!


I'm excited to keep diving into these books, and can't wait to see what happens next! Thank you everyone who's supported me through the years, and stuck by me as I went through my funk. I'm back now, and loving it!


I hope you're all having a marvelous holiday season, and for those of you who celebrate it, have a Merry Christmas! =D

God bless, & ciao!

~Rose
@Desert Rose Reviews

Monday, December 4, 2017

"A Day in the Life" by Theodore Ficklestein!

Hiya peeps! I've got a review of a new release, full of humor - both attempted, and accomplished. Check it out, and be sure to leave a comment down below before you go!

A Day in the Life

 A Day in the Life
~Author: Theodore Ficklestein

~Released: September 22nd 2017

~Publisher: GenZ

~Length: 136 Pages

~Genres: Fiction


A Day In The Life is Theodore Ficklestein’s debut novel about Nickolas Cripp, a college student finding his way in the world. Although Nick won’t admit it, he is the main focus to a young adult book that follows him from his home to college to the city, where he wants to attend an open mic.

Along his path, he encounters a teacher who asks about the apocalypse, a drunk on the train and two friends who feel writing isn’t Nick’s strong point, among others. Nick soon finds out that the funniest things in life aren’t that funny at all, and the greatest comedians never go up on stage.
As he goes through his day, one oddball character at a time, Nick starts to question if the comedy club he dreams of being in, is really for him. Should he be who he wants to be? Or who the world thinks he should be? Neither of which, he is entirely sure about.

A personal journey of self-discovery through the eyes of a youth yearning for meaning in a meaningless world; Nick learns that in life, the joke is on you.

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

"The Ivory Staff" by M. Lachi! Review & Giveaway!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got an audiobook review for you today! The Ivory Staff is an exciting adventure, full of danger, mystery, and love.

Check out my review below, and enter the giveaway for a chance to win $25 in PayPal cash!

Monday, November 27, 2017

Paperless Post Site Experience Review!

Hiya peeps! I've got a new kind of review to share with you today, and hopefully quite fitting for the current holiday season.

With so many events coming up for most of us, there are cards and invites to send out. Even without this time of year, there are always birthday parties, baby showers, weddings, graduations, and who knows what else going on. It gets time consuming, doesn't it? I am personally terrible at remembering to send out cards, because...life. Best intentions aside, it rarely ever happens. I used to send ecards as a kid, because even then, it was time consuming to get cards and send them out on time. First world problems, hu?

Still, we have to function in the world we're in, and that means events and parties. So, where do you go to get your cards? How long does it take for you to send out invites? Do you even have time, or do you just send out mass emails or texts, and wish there was a more elegant way to announce your event?

I always wonder the same thing, because sending mass emails gets old, but organizing individual cards by hand takes so much time! With busy schedules and an already alarming lack of sleep, any help we can get is fabulous, right?

Recently, I've been wishing there was a good site to send cards and invites, in a new and modern way. God must have been listening, because I was invited to partner with a site called Paperless Post, to try out their system, and let you guys know what I think. Whoot!

I jumped on the opportunity, and it was quite an experience!

Check out my review below, and be sure to visit the site for yourself!




Online cards aren't a new thing, at all. They are fast, convenient, and featured dancing happy faces far before memes or gifs. Many sites are still stuck in the 90s or early 2000s though, and need an upgrade. With the desire for a more modern feel to an eCard site, I approached the Paperless Post site with quite a bit of hope. I was definitely impressed.

Designed with a clean, simplistic look, easy layout, and modern cards to choose from, they are a simple go-to option. With the ability to create an account with an address book, you can securely store your contact email addresses for quick card sending, and even make a favorites list for cards you know you'll love to use! They aren't free, but the price is definitely cheaper than buying a card and stamps. Not only that, it saves paper - who doesn't love that?

The process to find a card or invite, apply coins, customize and send them off is so simple! For the holiday season, as well as several friends with birthdays around this time of year, it's a quick and convenient method for me to show them I'm thinking about them. It's also a super simple way to send invites, and with holiday parties, weddings, and all sorts of family things seemingly always happening, it's a game changer. I don't need to stress about sending invites for my next event, and that's such a major help!

If you're looking for a great site to organize and send clean, amazing looking invites, birthday or holiday cards, thank you cards, or any other kind of card, definitely check out Paperless Post. With their option to design your own card, you know there's always a way to send the exact card you want, no matter what.

*I am partnered with Paperless Post, and was given a complementary amount of coins to use, in order to test and review the site.


Sounds fantastic, hu? Not only is their site set up beautifully, they have an app you can download as well, making it even easier to fit sending invites and cards into our busy schedule. They have you covered no matter what you're needing - from birthdays, weddings, parties, business events, and every day cards. There's even a way to send custom made flyers!

It's an elegant way to bring your card/invite game into the modern world, without sacrificing anything. What have you got to lose? Check out Paperless Post, and I'm sure you'll love them just as much as I do.

Thanks so much for visiting, and be sure to leave a comment below and let me know what you think of this post!

Have a lovely day!



Saturday, November 25, 2017

"Soul Bound" Book Tour!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got a suspenseful story to share with you today, and the tagline is just the best: 

"It's not about the Happily Ever After...
It's about surviving the read."

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

"The Infinity Gene" by Sue Wyshynski!

 Book Tour!

Hiya peeps! I'm participating in a review tour today, for the second book in a great sci-fi series! Check out my review from yesterday of the first book if you'd like, before you read this one, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

"Exposure" by Sylvie Parizeau!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out this series review, enter the giveaway, and be sure to leave a comment before you go!

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

"Permanent Happiness" by Iyabo Ojikutu!

Hiya peeps! As I'm sure you know, I don't tend to review self-help books. In fact, I don't read them. Like, ever. When the request for this one came in though, it sounded interesting, especially for the time of year. I figured some of you may be able to find help from it, so decided to give it a whirl! Check out my review below, and let me know what you think of it in the comments below!

Permanent Happiness: The Only Way to Find Peace, Joy and your Life-Given Purpose

 Permanent Happiness
~AuthorIyabo Ojikutu

~Released: May 24th, 2017

~Length: 218 Pages

~Genres: Nonfiction, Spirituality, Self Help



“Another book about happiness?” What does this one have to say that we all have not heard before? And is happiness really an achievable state of being? 

We never stop craving happiness. It is the world’s most sought-after feeling and emotion. As we wake up each morning, we do so hoping to find happiness in all that we experience, whether we are consciously aware of this desire or not. 

We do, of course, find happiness at different points and phases in our lives. The problem is, this situational happiness tends to be short lived. We are happy for a few days and then fall back into anxiety, sadness, and/or worry. 

Permanent Happiness outlines three easy steps to pursuing permanent happiness. It tackles key life situations we encounter during our daily living and shows how to pursue peace and be positive influencers on those around us. When our lives are in balance, we discover we let go of the stress and worry that arise when life throws us curveballs. 

Get ready to be challenged and inspired. More importantly, get ready to learn about and understand permanent happiness and peace from a different perspective! 



 Iyabo Ojikutu
A pediatrician in Atlanta, I’ve dedicated my medical career to caring for children and to teaching medical students. In December 2015, two months after my father passed, I was suddenly inspired to start writing and completed my first book in February 2016. I discovered the beauty and peace writing brought me, and I haven't stopped since. I'm currently writing my third book and continuing my journey for permanent happiness—peace.

I was born in Lagos, Nigeria. Upon graduating from secondary school, I entered medical school at age 16. After completing my medical degree and internship at 23 years old, I left for England, where I practiced as a pediatrician for four years. In 1998 I moved to the United States, completed residency in the Bronx, New York, and then relocated to Atlanta in 2001.

I opened my pediatric practice in 2004, and this is still serving the community. I live in Atlanta with my two daughters, 19 and 13 years old.


~ Connect with Iyabo Online ~






"Peace is permanent happiness.
Happiness is good, but is not enough. Peace is good, and is enough."


The first couple sentences are, alone, profound. They not only give you several things to think about, but a clear idea of what the rest of the pages contain. Peace and happiness are things everyone basically hopes to achieve someday in their lives, right?

In this book, Dr. Ojikutu writes clearly, as she explains her ideas on how to achieve both. While the ideas seem somewhat echoed from other self-help authors and "gurus" of personal health, her way of writing about each area is simple, and said in ways I'd certainly never heard before. At several points, I found myself simply staring into space, pondering the things she'd written, feeling more at peace simply for having processed the suggested outlook and mentality.

Instead of a book filled with personal anecdotes and stories that rarely apply to many other people, as most of the books in this genre seem to feature, this book focuses more on the goal of achieving those first two lines. It stays on point, focuses on the reader, and connects each area of an individual's life, in a way that makes it clear how to become balanced, and peaceful, therefore achieving happiness. Even for those who believe they are happy, there are probably things you could gain from this, that would flip your mentality a bit, and improve your current state of being.

I'm honestly not one for self-help literature. They've never been my area of interest, and aside from "Chicken Noodle Soup for the Soul" when I was in high school, I've never looked into reading one out of personal desire. When approached to review this one, I was skeptical, but thought it may be beneficial to others who enjoy the genre, therefore worthwhile. I am glad I agreed, because it's given me a bit to think about, and a new way of looking at my own personal health, in ways I didn't realize I needed to. I am thankful to have had the opportunity to experience this book, and definitely recommend it to anyone seeking peace, happiness, and general balance to the hectic, chaotic mess we call life.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.


Be sure to let me know what you think of this book in the comments below! Do you read self-help books?

Thanks for visiting!
Have a great day! =D



"The Butterfly Code" by Sue Wyshynski!

Hiya peeps! So, I'm participating in a review tour for The Butterfly Code tomorrow, but I hadn't read the first book yet. I have to read that one anyway, so figured, why not review it too? Not a requested review, but a lot of fun, an necessary for the book I signed up to review.

So, check that out below, then get ready for the review and giveaway for the sequel tomorrow!

The Butterfly CodeGirl On Fire, #1


 The Butterfly Code
~Released: October 15th 2015

~Publisher: Whitman Books

~Length: 346 Pages

~Genres: Sci-Fi, Paranormal, Young Adult


My name is Aeris Thorne. I am a genetically modified human. 

PAINFUL SECRETS. 
STARTLING TRUTHS.
UNDENIABLE LOVE.

All it took was a chance meeting--one tingling glance across a darkened street to change my life.

I'd been searching for my two best friends in the crowded Zenith Club, which was a really bad idea because I'm totally claustrophobic. 

I burst outside, and that's when I came face-to-face with the incredibly gorgeous Hunter Cayman. Dark-haired, tall, and leaning against an insane sports car, my pulse went haywire. Maybe things weren't so bad after all. The young doctor had his long muscular arms crossed over his leather jacket clad chest, and all his six-foot something would make any girl's knees turn weak. But then, if what Ella said was true, Hunter was the kind of guy who left behind a trail of broken hearts. And heartache was the last thing I needed right now.

Yet there's something strange, something almost superhuman about Hunter. It's more than that infuriatingly knowing grin. I'm trying to stop thinking about him, and I get the feeling he's avoiding me, too. Yet Deep Cove is a tiny town and every time we run into each other the tension literally crackles, sparking around us. It just figures that when suddenly I'm in danger, he's there to save me.



In truth, I should be dead. By all the logic in this world, I should be shattered to pieces. How fast was I going on that ATV when I smashed into those iron gates? Ninety? A hundred? And the men who were chasing me, where did they go?

Somehow I'm whole.

Maybe better than whole. 

There's no one I can talk to, not even my best friend, Gage. Gage hates Hunter. He wants Hunter's laboratory to be shut down. He thinks Hunter's a monster. And yet, if that's true, if Hunter's a monster...than what am I? I'm not sure what terrifies me more, the metamorphosis taking place inside me, or the intensely powerful connection with a guy whose heart and soul has become linked with mine.

Monday, November 20, 2017

"Catch Me If You Can" by Miss Mae!

 Audiobook Tour



Sunday, November 19, 2017

"The Final Year Project" by Mehana Usha Rani!

Hiya peeps! I've got a new release to share with you today, fitting for college students and fans of college-age drama stories.

Check it out, and be sure to let me know what you think in the comments below!

The Final Year Project


 The Final Year Project
~Released: November 29th, 2017

~Genres: New Adult, Young Adult, College, Contemporary, Drama


Om Prakash, a senior at Amra College of Technology, is getting ready to spend his final year with his friends, Vikram, Sid and Dev. They want to do something special to commemorate their last year but with no plans yet, they attend the Freshers’ Day Inauguration Ceremony.

Enter Sara, the class topper of the freshers batch who looks as perfect as her test scores. Om is instantly smitten. With that, Vikram announces their final year project: Om ♥ Sara. Om has no objections.

But Sara does.

Unamused by their harassment and hell-bent on revenge, Sara infiltrates their all-male Boxing Club joining as their team manager. Om tries hard to keep peace amongst the team; struggling to hide his affection for her while his friends suffer under her leadership. But when a ghost from the past comes back to haunt the boys, Om finds reason to believe Sara joining the club might have nothing to do with what happened at the ceremony. The very friends he’s trying so hard to protect have secrets of their own. And it’s up to Om to dig deeper before someone gets hurt. 


 About the Author

 Mehana Usha Rani
Born and raised in sunny Singapore, Mehana Usha Rani is an alter ego residing in the mind of a 23-year-old.

Despite holding a degree in Economics, Rani has a special interest in writing all things noneconomic and is set to publish her debut novel, The Final Year Project, by the end of 2017.

~ Connect with Mehana Online ~



3 1/2 Roses

PG-17

Drama meets danger, settled in the boxing ring.

College is a place of jokes and drama for this group of friends. With a sassy chick giving a group of guys a hard time, you're bound to run into some laughs, drama, and a few fights. While Om tries to keep the peace between his crush and his prankster friends, secrets break free of their shadows, turning the little group into a mess.

While this particular style of novel isn't my personal taste, it wasn't bad. Written in a way most college students tend to act and think, it would be fitting for readers of that nature. From the first paragraphs, you get a taste of the drama that drips from nearly every page. High in emotion and energy, the whole story ends up being quite exhausting, even though it's not all that long.

I like the way the chapters were set up, breaking up the story by semesters, which fit the setting. The writing style is very bullet point written, as each new emotion and reaction is listed and pointed out. Set up almost as a screenplay with play-by-play movements and reactions, detailing each character in a somewhat detached sort of style. While it wasn't bad, it isn't my particular taste, and I had a difficult time really getting into the story.

Overall, this book wasn't bad, by any means. I think it holds a lot of appeal for many readers, and could easily grow to have a large following of fans and satisfied readers. If it sounds like your cup of tea, give it a shot. There is a bit of language throughout both the dialogue and narrative, which would be my only warning. If that doesn't bother you, hopefully you'll enjoy it!

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.


Let me know what you think of this book, in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting!

Have a great day! =D



Friday, November 17, 2017

"Wolves and Roses" Audiobook Review!

 Audiobook Tour

Hiya peeps! I have an audiobook review for a book I read and reviewed last week. Check it out, because this book, in any format, rocks!

Be sure to enter the giveaway below for the chance to win a beautiful treasure box!

Thursday, November 16, 2017

2 Self-Help Books for Christians

Hiya peeps! I have some different kind of books for you today, that seem fitting for the upcoming season. I am a Christian, and although I rarely read self-help books (other than the Bible, haha), I thought it may be helpful to share these today. Who knows, they may help someone! Check out Why Many Christians Will Miss Heaven and Biblical Steps To Dealing With The Jilt of Your Lover.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Review for A Travelogue of Vietnam!

Hiya peeps! I've got an interesting new release for you today. I don't generally review memoirs, however this one caught my interest. I think it's one you'll enjoy, so check out my review, and be sure to add it to your reading lists!

Rain Falling on Tamarind Trees: A Travelogue of Vietnam


 Rain Falling on Tamarind Trees
~AuthorC.L. Hoang

~ReleasedNovember 18th 2017

~Length: 132 Pages

~GenresTravelogue, Memoir


Have you ever wondered what Vietnam is like some forty years after the war has ended? Then come along with the author as he returns to visit his ancestral homeland for the first time after a decades-long absence.

Retrace his steps with him around his former hometown of Saigon in the south, and then follow him along on an itinerary of discovery to other unique destinations throughout the country: Hoi-An, the best-preserved medieval seaport in Southeast Asia; Hue, the ancient capital of imperial Vietnam, on the central coast; Halong Bay, a world-renowned natural wonder; and Hanoi, the country’s thousand-year-old capital, in the north.

Filled with historical and cultural tidbits and personal reminiscences, and illustrated with over forty photographs, "Rain Falling on Tamarind Trees" offers the reader an insightful and fascinating glimpse of this tropical land.

"Somebody to Love" by Patricia Wilton!

 Audiobook Tour

Hiya peeps! I'm excited to share the sequel to the book I reviewed last week! This series is awesome, and perfect for this time of year! Check out the first book, and then the second book before you enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

"Asher Black"

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got an adult romance adventure for you today, full of danger and mystery. Check it out, along with an interview, and giveaway!

Monday, November 13, 2017

"I Was An Evil Teenager" by Anthony Avina!

Hiya peeps! I've got a horror/thriller/suspense/wtf book to share with you today, sure to give you some chills, and possibly some nightmares. Check it out, and let me know what you think of it in the comments below!

I Was An Evil Teenager: Remastered

 I Was An Evil Teenager: Remastered
~Author: Anthony Avina

~Released: October 20th, 2017

~Length: 274 Pages

~Genres: Horror, Thriller, Suspense


Killer. Zombie. Demon.

Evil comes in many forms, and Lisa Etron embodies them all in I Was An Evil Teenager, the three novella series that explores evil and the ways in which it appears. Author Anthony Avina brings a unique look at the work of Lisa Etron, a seemingly normal teenage girl who harbors a dark secret that threatens to tear apart not only those closest to her, but an entire town as well.

Lisa Etron is the girl next door. Lisa Etron is the most beautiful and popular girl in her school. Lisa Etron is the girl of Dave Trent's dreams. Lisa Etron is a demented killer, hellbent on chaos and murder, and she's willing to do whatever it takes to achieve those two goals. While a seasoned detective works to solve the mystery of a series of brutal murders, Lisa plans a deadly killing spree that threatens to destroy those who have made the mistake of loving her.

This remastered edition of the book updates the story and brings a deep dive into the battle between good and evil. Showing the lengths in which evil is willing to go to to tear people down, and the way in which people use hope and love to overcome that evil, this novel features the combined novellas of I Was A Teenage Killer, I Was A Teenage Zombie and I Was A Teenage Demon.

A twisted horror saga like no other, this series follows one group of people who must survive the twisted mind of a killer who refuses to go away and let them live happy lives. In this one of a kind novel, discover whether or not evil ever truly dies...

Friday, November 10, 2017

"A Heavenly Christmas" by Patricia Wilton!

Audiobook Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got a new audiobook review for  you today, perfect for the upcoming Christmas season! Yes, I am one of those Christmas-starts-Nov-first kinda gals. Actually, I start my holiday celebrating when October hits!

If you're looking for a good series for next month, be sure to check this one out! My review for book two is happening next Wednesday, so be sure to check this one out real quick, see an interview with the author, and enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Thursday, November 9, 2017

"Element Punk, Vol. 1" by Nicholas Murray!

Hiya peeps! I have a review to share today, although it's not one I'm too happy about sharing. But, I do post all my reviews here, good and bad, so share I shall.

The book submitted was one that sounded interesting, but simply wasn't finished, or ready for public consumption. As it is out in the public though, and a review was requested, I have that below. If you don't enjoy low-rating reviews, I'll have more reviews coming soon, for novels I enjoyed quite a bit more.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

"Wolves & Roses" by Christina Bauer!
Review!

 Blog Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got an exciting review for you today, and I'm sure you'll love it! A wonderful spin on the Grimm Brothers/Disney characters - specifically, the Sleeping Beauty story.

Thursday, November 2, 2017

"Of Flesh and Fire" by Tuesday Cross!

Hiya peeps! I've got a brand new review for you guys today! Filled with magic, vampires, werewolves, and dragons, this book took me on a fantastic adventure.

Check it out below, and be sure to leave a comment before you go! =D

Sunday, October 29, 2017

"The Rogue Mountain" by Joshua Tarquinio!

Hiya peeps! I have a new review for you guys today! This book is perfect for Halloween, so I rushed to get this one up, in case you want to pick it up for thriller season! =D

Check it out below, and be sure to let me know if you're as into Halloween books as I am. ;)

Friday, October 27, 2017

Time Travel Romance!
"West" by Lizzy Ford!

Audio Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got an new audiobook review for you today, full of old-time western action, historical challenges, and a dangerous romance. Check it out, and be sure to leave a comment before you go! =D

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

"Fate: The Psychiatrist" by John Giles!

Hiya peeps! I've got a psychological thriller today - not for the faint of heart. Check out my review, and be sure to leave a comment below before you go! =D

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Guest Post: Do you Know About Noblebright Fantasy?

Heroes and Swords: A Noblebright Fantasy Collection

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Author Spotlight: Lisa Stewart

Hiya peeps! Today I'm featuring an awesome author, because it's one of the things I love to do. Since I'm in a transition to get this blog back to only reviews though, I'm simply going to link my full post on my book blog here.

Check out Lisa Stewart, and her three new releases:

"Soup Is The New Coffee"
"Being Fil's Sister"
"Knitting Haggis"



Thursday, October 12, 2017

"Premonition" by Leigh Walker!

 Blog Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out this young adult paranormal adventure! I had quite a bit of fun with it - check out my review, the author's playlist, and be sure to enter the giveaway below!

Friday, October 6, 2017

The Witches of Auburn: The Gifts of Our Mothers

 Blog Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got a new release for you today, along with two giveaways! Check out my review below the book & author info, and enter for your chance to win some awesome prizes!

The Gifts of Our Mothers 

(The Witches of Auburn, #1) 

 Gifts of our Mothers
~Released: October 2nd, 2017

~Publisher: Brunswick House

~Length: 423 Pages

~Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult, Romance


*The next two installments of The Witches of Auburn are releasing the same day!

In the dark woods I’m forbidden to go into, lying on top of the one person I swore I’d stay away from, and hiding from the men who chased him, I hold still as Ike Kennedy whispers in my ear, “Don’t leave me.”

The questions of why my mother packed up our lives and moved us to Auburn, New Jersey when she, herself, fled here twenty years ago, plague me every day. Her past and the people in this town loom over our family with a haunting understanding of the coven I was born into, but realize I know nothing about. The enemies I heard stories about as a child attack without warning or regard for human life, but I don’t know who they are.

I’m Ever Ayars. I can fly. I can disappear. I can move things with my mind, but my gifts are my only clarity. Lost within a new school, new friends, and a new life, there is only one thing I know for sure.

I’m not leaving Ike Kennedy.


Thursday, September 21, 2017

"I Stole His Car" by Jessica Frances!


Hiya peeps! I'm super excited to share a new release with you today. I absolutely loved Jessica's Taken trilogy, and this new series sounds awesome! Check it out, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

I Stole His Car

(Love at First Crime, #1)

 I Stole His Car
~Published: September 19th 2017

~Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense



She stole his car, so he stole her heart…

I saw something I never should have seen.
I took something they wanted back.
I was desperate.
Alone.
Hunted.
So, I did something I never would have normally done.
I stole a car.
Not just any car.
His car.
Now I have no choice but to trust him.
Only he can help me get out of this mess.
Then, when we both become hunted,
And when feelings begin to complicate things,
Can I still count on his protection?
Can I trust what is happening between us to be real?
Because, as some people say: there is nothing quite like love at first … crime.

Friday, September 15, 2017

"Ann, Not Annie" by Sage Steadman!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out my review for this new release, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Ann, Not Annie


 Anne Not Annie
~Published: September 20th, 2017

~Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

On sale for $1.99 until release day!

Ann, not Annie, is tired of her nominal existence and has vowed to turn things around by dating the hottest guy in school, Jacob Waters. Easier said than done since Jacob isn’t even aware she exists. The truth is, due to Ann’s lively temper she spends more time in detention with the rest of the school rejects than she does fantasizing about Jacob Waters wearing spandex.

Her best friend and devout alien believer, Lisa, doesn’t like the changes she’s seeing in her BFF. Neither does Danny Feller, a fellow detention inmate and resident lost boy who has started keeping an extra watchful and unwanted eye on Ann.

When a chance encounter in an empty hallway changes everything, Ann finds all her dreams coming true and she is well on her way to living the perfect life she’s always wanted. But appearances aren’t always what they seem and Ann is going to have to face not just cold hard facts, but also her past.